in

The ORM Foundation

Get the facts!

Is Functional Dependency Theory Practical?

Last post Wed, Feb 27 2013 7:35 by Anonymous. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Feb 20 2013 10:03

• Ken Evans
    • Top 10 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on Sun, Nov 18 2007
    • Stickford, UK
    • Posts 805

Is Functional Dependency Theory Practical?

I am a student on Prof Jennifer Widom's course "Introduction to Databases" which has a section on "Relational Design Theory". This section contains videos that explain the method called "Functional Dependency Theory". (FDT)

Two of the course videos are available on YouTube: Functional Dependencies    and   Boyce Codd Normal Form

As presented, one starts a functional depencency analysis with something called a "mega relationship" and then one uses FDT to "decompose" the mega-relationship down to Boyce-Codd Normal Form or Fourth Normal Form.

Whilst I am sure that there are many questions related to FDT, here are two questions that come to my mind:

1. Where does the "mega-relation" come from in the first place?

2. What procedure is used to validate the mega-relation with the domain experts before one starts the decomposition process.

If anyone reading this thread has had any experience of using FDT to design a relational schema, it would be good to hear about the advantages and disadvantages.

• Fri, Feb 22 2013 18:53 In reply to

Re: Is Functional Dependency Theory Practical?