in

The ORM Foundation

Get the facts!

Help modeling email constraints for user

Last post Thu, Sep 19 2013 3:21 by maubrey. 16 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Sep 15 2013 20:09

• maubrey
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Jun 19 2013
    • Posts 21

Help modeling email constraints for user

Hi. I'm just learning ORM and have gone through the NORMA tutorials (they were really great, BTW).

So now I'm experimenting with my first model and am hitting some snags. Here's what I want to express: a User must have one or more unique Email addresses, one of which must be flagged the the "primary address". Each Email can only be associated with one User.

NORMA model is here: http://minus.com/lbdWXnKzTP155f

The verbalization currently reads:

User has Email.
      Each User has some Email.
      For each Email, at most one User has that Email.
      This association with Email provides the preferred identification scheme for UserHasEmail.
      It is possible that some User has more than one Email.

I'm not clear on how to handle the "primary address" constraint. I objectified the UserEmail role thinking I need to attach the primary flag to that role. Since the Email is unique to each User I guess Email could also be converted to an Object with a AddressText() value and a unary isPrimary role?

But either way, I'm not sure how to impose the constraint that each User must have one and only one Email flagged as the primary address.

Any pointers?

Thank you.

Maurice

• Sun, Sep 15 2013 20:24 In reply to

• maubrey
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Posts 21

Re: Help modeling email constraints for user

Try #2: is this closer? http://minus.com/lbvcm4zsLC8imX

Hmmm. I think a problem there is the primaryEmail could be connected to a UserEmail that's associated with a different user, right?

• Sun, Sep 15 2013 22:37 In reply to

Hi,